Home > Uncategorized > Nathan Handler (nhandler)

Nathan Handler (nhandler)

computer

Age: 16
Location: Chicago, Illinois, United States
IRC Nick: nhandler

How long have you used Linux and what was your first distro?
My first introduction to Linux was with a Slax live cd. That was sometime in 2005. I used the cd a couple of times, but never actually installed it to my computer. During the summer of 2006, I decided to install Linux as my primary operating system. I tried Suse and Fedora before trying Ubuntu. Ubuntu had the best support for my hardware, and a great online community.

How long have you been using Ubuntu?
I have been using Ubuntu for a little over 2 years. I started with Dapper Drake, but updated right away to Edgy Eft.

When did you get involved with the MOTU team and how?
I started to get involved with the MOTU team during the Gutsy Gibbon development cycle. I began by patching some of the bitesize bugs on Launchpad. I did not do anything MOTU-related during the Hardy Heron development cycle. However, in the Intrepid Ibex developement cycle, I really started to get serious about working towards becoming a MOTU. I performed a lot of merges and syncs, and continued to patch bugs on Launchpad.

What helped you learn packaging and how Ubuntu teams work?
Emmet Hikory (persia) helped guide me when I first got involved. He helped teach me the basics of patching and some of the development processes. The many guides and irc logs on the wiki were also a great help. Almost every MOTU-related task has been documented on the wiki. I also can not forget to mention the IRC channels. They are filled with MOTUs and other Ubuntu users who helped answer all of my questions.

What’s your favorite part of working with the MOTU?
My favorite part of working with the MOTU is that there is always something new to learn. When you master one thing (if that is even possible), there is always always something else out there for you to learn.

Any advice for people wanting to help out MOTU?
Spend time on IRC. IRC is one of the most valuable resources available. Not only is it full of thousands of people that are willing to help guide you on your way, but it also leads to many new friendships.

Are you involved with any local Linux/Ubuntu groups?
I am currently not involved with the Chicago LOCO. However, I have worked with many of the LOCO members over IRC.

What are you going to focus on in Jaunty?
Now that I am a MOTU, I am going to be devoting a lot of time to sponsoring patches from other Ubuntu contributors. I will also be reviewing more packages on REVU. I also want to get involved with Kubuntu.

What do you do in your other spare time?
When I am not at school or doing MOTU-related tasks, I am usually working on one of the many Perl scripts that I’ve started. For me, programing helps me think logically and relax.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. December 23, 2008 at 12:11 pm

    Nice interview if that is your desktop nhandler it is even worse then mine with all the S*t on there :)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment