Home > Uncategorized > Stéphane Graber (stgraber)

Stéphane Graber (stgraber)

Age: 18
Location: Sherbrooke, QC, CA
IRC Nick: stgraber

stgraber

stgraber's desktop

one thin client with a 22" screen, another with a dual-head setup and my laptop with a standard desktop install

How long have you used Linux and what was your first distro?
I’ve been using it for almost 9 years now. My first distro was Mandrake Linux, I then switched between distros for a few years including Gentoo, Corel Linux, Caldera, LFS, Slackware, Red Hat and Debian to finally use Debian and then switch to Ubuntu.

How long have you been using Ubuntu?
Since Warty.

When did you get involved with the MOTU team and how?
My first package to be uploaded to the archive was pastebinit a command line pastebin client, this one was uploaded on the 7th of December 2006 (feisty).

What helped you learn packaging and how Ubuntu teams work?
I mainly learned how Ubuntu works by discussing with people on IRC and reading some wiki pages. Being around for a long time I actually saw most of these team structures being created.

For the packaging, I initially simply read the Ubuntu Packaging Guide, then followed the REVU process doing changes when needed.

What’s your favorite part of working with the MOTU?
Being able to get my favorite applications directly in Ubuntu, fixing some others and helping some others to do the same. And of course hours long discussions on IRC :)

Any advice for people wanting to help out MOTU?
Just go on IRC, ask people and read some wiki pages. Packaging is not as hard as it may look.

Are you involved with any local Linux/Ubuntu groups?
I recently moved to Canada where I’m not involved in any LoCo but I’m still one of the admin of the Ubuntu Switzerland LoCo team. My role is now to mainly follow the discussions on the mailing-list and discuss on IRC.

What are you going to focus on in Jaunty?
Improving LTSP to get desktop-like experience, getting ltsp-cluster uploaded to Universe, improve a bit iTalc’s integration with LTSP and getting more educational packages uploaded/improved for Edubuntu.

What do you do in your other spare time?
I work on upstream LTSP and on some of my personal projects (pastebinit and a few others). Yeah, I don’t really do anything beside working on open source projects :)

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

