Home > Uncategorized > Stefan Ebner (sebner)

Stefan Ebner (sebner)

screenshot-empty

screenshot-full

Age: 18
Location: Hermagor, Austria
IRC Nick: sebner

How long have you used Linux and what was your first distro?
A friend of mine and myself were somehow the “geeks” in our school class and he told me something about suse so we tried suse 9.0. I’m still wondering that I didn’t remove the windows partition on my parents pc accidently but since it was new and strange I deleted it some weeks after I installed it, also because the DSL-modem wasn’t working. Later we tried 9.1 with the same result.

How long have you been using Ubuntu?
I installed Dapper Drake (version 6.06) in august 2006. I sometimes had a windows partition but since the installation ubuntu was my default system.

When did you get involved with the MOTU team and how?
In October 2007 I joined the ubuntu-motu channel on freenode and discovered that Andrea Veri (bluekuja) was not living that far away so I talked a little bit to him and he convinced me to start contributing. After buying a new laptop he started mentoring me from the 1.1.2008 on :)

What helped you learn packaging and how Ubuntu teams work?
The different Packaging guides (Debian/Ubuntu ones). Looking at examples on REVU. Through my work on many merges. Hanging around on IRC tells you a lot about the how the teams work and don’t forget about the wiki pages.

What’s your favorite part of working with the MOTU?
Of course the people. It’s often just great fun to work with them and you can learn a lot talking to them. Besides you have the great feeling to give something back.

Any advice for people wanting to help out MOTU?
Well, as in many interviews already pointed out: Don’t be shy and just ask if you need help. Looking at the wikipages, doing merges and syncs and upload stuff to REVU is a great way to learn how you can contribute to ubuntu.

Are you involved with any local Linux/Ubuntu groups?
In the past I was part of the german ubuntuforum team but stepped back in favour of concentrating to become a MOTU. In the future I’ll help the new Austrian Locoteam and forum to grow.

What are you going to focus on in Jaunty?
I’ll concentrate on C# apps which includes packaging new ones and merges and syncs existing ones from Debian. As I’m MOTU now I’ll also sponsor the work of others besides my own.

What do you do in your other spare time?
Hmm? spare time? what? I’d say nexuiz.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Arne
    December 24, 2008 at 12:20 pm

    Hi Stefan,

    finally you made it :)
    Best wishes and Merry Christmas!

    Greetings Arne

  2. JTRIP
    December 25, 2008 at 11:16 pm

    Hey!, thats a really awesome wallpaper. Mind sharing the source? If possible, of course.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

