Home > Uncategorized > Guillaume Martres (smarter)

Guillaume Martres (smarter)

Age: 15
Location: France (near the border with Switzerland)
IRC Nick: smarter (an anagram of my last name ;) )

How long have you used Linux and what was your first distro?
I’ve been using Linux for 3 years and a half now. My first distro was Kaella, a Knoppix based Live-CD adapted for French users. That’s probably why I like so much Debian-based distros and KDE ;) .

How long have you been using Ubuntu?
I’ve started using Ubuntu 3 years ago, as soon as I got a laptop.

When did you get involved with the MOTU team and how?
I had been wanting to help with Ubuntu development for some times, and finally one day (a year and a half ago, if I remember correctly) I joined some developers channels on IRC(which I had only used a few times before, mostly for providing support for users or asking questions) and asked how I could help.

What helped you learn packaging and how Ubuntu teams work?
The French wiki and the English one were really helpful for learning packaging. I also had a lot of comments on my packages on IRC and REVU which helped me making better packages. I learned how the teams works mostly by watching discussions on IRC.

What’s your favorite part of working with the MOTU?
Learning new things and working with great people ;) .

Any advice for people wanting to help out MOTU?
Don’t hesitate to join development channels on IRC to ask questions!

Are you involved with any local Linux/Ubuntu groups?
I’m one of the administrator of the French forum, but never participated in any local event related to Ubuntu.

What are you going to focus on in Jaunty?
I’m currently learning C++/Qt and PyQt. In Jaunty, I hope to be able to improve our distros tools(like the upgrade manager or the language selector). I will also focus on making sure KDE4 is as good or better than KDE3 for the few features that we still miss from KDE3 :) .

What do you do in your other spare time?
I read a lot, I also play quite a lot of video games.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment