Home > Uncategorized > Behind MOTU: Mario Limonciello

Behind MOTU: Mario Limonciello

Today Behind MOTU interview is with Mario Limonciello, a regular in #ubuntu-motu for a while now. These days you can mostly find him working on Mythbuntu, the Ubuntu remix focusing on MythTV.

IRC Nick: superm1
Age: 21
Location: Rochester, MN for my current summer internship
Ames, IA during the school year
Mundelein, IL for a permanent address

How long have you used Linux and what was your first distro?

Since December 2003. I began with Gentoo on a whim knowing nothing about Linux because a friend at work told me that you can learn a lot with it and set up a very stable server. Printed out the install guide, and I wiped my (only) desktop clean and went cold turkey. Very good learning experience. After being more than fed up with Gentoo breaking all the time, I moved to Ubuntu in 2005 and didn’t look back. In 2006 I decided that I wanted to try to give back to the community however possible, and joined up with the MOTU folk.

How long have you been working with MOTU?

July 2006 give or take a month

Favorite package(s)?

Given that 95% of my Ubuntu time goes into this and related applications: MythTV & Mythplugins

Favorite part of working in MOTU?

Working with lots of people that have the same interests, views and goals. I know every person that is in #ubuntu-motu wants to make Ubuntu the best distro out there.

Any advice for people wanting to help with MOTU?

Start with a package that you can and will feel passionate about. Something that you will want to give 112% when working on. Also make sure to get a good mentor ;)

Any Plans for Gutsy?

I want to have Mythbuntu past beta stages and ready to have a simultaneous 7.10 release with Ubuntu 7.10.

Favorite quote?

A quote from one of my absolute favorite TV shows:

“Why tip someone for a job I’m capable of doing myself? I can deliver food. I can drive a taxi. I can, and do, cut my own hair. I did however, tip my urologist, because I am unable to pulverize my own kidney stones.”

Screenshot/Pic of work area?

superm1’s screenshot

superm1’s screenshot

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Greg
    May 29, 2007 at 5:24 am

    My experience with gentoo was about the same. Got really sick of the breakage and general ricer attitude. Been really happy using ubuntu and looking forward to trying mythbuntu on my set-top-box. Breakage has so far not been a problem at all, but I am somewhat concerned when I upgrade my laptop to feisty from edgy. Been holding off on the dist-upgrade since I have spent a lot of time getting everything working just right and am concerned that somethings will be broken and I will be tempted just to reinstall.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment