Home > Uncategorized > Stefan Potyra

Stefan Potyra

After a long hiatus, we are back and today we are talking with Stefan Potyra (sistpoty) who is a long time MOTU and sat on the first Motu Council.

Age: 28
Location: Poxdorf, a small German village near Erlangen/Nuremberg.

How long have you used Linux and what was your first distro?
Back in 1999 at the university. First distribution I installed myself was DLD (Deutsche Linux Distribution – german Linux distribution), but I soon switched to SuSE and then to RedHat. Not too sure, but it must have been sometime in 2001 or 2002 when I switched again to Debian and stayed there until …

How long have you been using Ubuntu?
I installed Ubuntu late 2005.

How long have you been a MOTU and how long did it take to become one?
According to Launchpad, I got accepted as a MOTU at 2005-09-08, however since Launchpad didn’t manage upload rights there yet, it took me another two month until my key was finally in the keyring. I can’t really say how long it took me from my first direct Ubuntu contribution to becoming a MOTU, but I guess it took 3-4 month.

Favorite packages?
hm… not too sure, I guess konsole, zsh, vim, kvirc, mplayer.

Favorite part of being a MOTU?
I really enjoy hanging out on IRC and having fun there. I also like to review packages and help people with problems, however I unfortunately didn’t have much time recently to do this though.

Any advice for people wanting to help with MOTU?
Just come around to #ubuntu-motu and don’t hesitate to ask anything there.
There are no stupid questions, just stupid answers.

Can you talk a bit about REVU and your work with it?
My first point of contact with Ubuntu actually happened when initially developing REVU. Reinhard Tartler (with whom I’ve been in classes at university) asked me back then if I’d like to develop some webtool in python. Since by then python was my favorite programming language I immediately said yes, and we spent a few weeks to come up with a hacked up thingy we called
REVU. Incidentally I was then absorbed by the ubuntu community.

Of course, later on there were many good ideas how to enhance REVU, but it was clear for me, that the current code base for REVU would need to be entirely rewritten to make it actually maintainable. Hence the idea (and a spec) of REVU2 was created, which sadly was never finished. Parts of the new implementation can still be found at launchpad.

Right now, there are plans again to get REVU2 done, using python-django as a base framework. Actually, having fixed a few things in the current REVU codebase, I’ve also become interested in working on REVU2 again. Also the new infrastructure of Launchpad, like PPAs or the ability to store packaging
branches in bzr is something I’d definitely like REVU2 making use of. Actually Reinhard had quite similar ideas, which are to use a Package cache which can fetch/create source packages by different means, like pulling from an apt-gettable archive, getting something via bzr or from a local ftp directory.

How do you think the MOTU Council has affected the MOTU community?
I guess the main effect that MC has on the MOTU community is that we now have some kind of official voice of the MOTU’s. This means that with the foundation of the council, the MOTU community, was made an official part of Ubuntu, which is trusted to be responsible for themselves. Being able to handle applicants independently – which is the main work I’ve done as a MC member – underlines this.

Any Plans for Hardy Heron?
Getting REVU2 out the door would be nice. Also I’d like to finally get FAUmachine into Ubuntu, the project I’m working on at university.

Favorite quote?

Wenn man’s kann, ist’s keine Kunst, wenn man’s nicht kann, erst recht keine.

(Which unfortunately doesn’t translate to English)

What do you do to relax after a long day of development work?
Watch TV, drink beer and talk with my girlfriend. Or eventually play a game.

Screenshot/Pic of work area?

Stefan’s Work Area

Stefan’s Screenshot

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

