Home > Uncategorized > Jamie Strandboge

Jamie Strandboge

Jamie Strandboge

Age: 36
Location: Rochester, NY USA
IRC Nick:jdstrand

How long have you used Linux and what was your first distro?
I was introduced to Linux in 1997, and installed Redhat 5.0 on my home system in 1998. I started using Debian not too long after that.

How long have you been using Ubuntu?
Since Breezy.

When did you get involved with the MOTU team and how?
I became a MOTU in December 2007 and I got involved by reviewing universe security updates for sponsorship.

What helped you learn packaging and how Ubuntu teams work?
I learned most of what I know about packaging through my work on the Gnome 2.2 backport for Debian Woody from several years ago. I am a big fan of Debian Policy and package nearly everything I want to put on more than one computer. As far as learning how teams work, if I don’t know something, I read the wiki and ask someone if something isn’t clear.

Favorite part of working with the MOTU?
Easy– the people. It is very satisfying working with people who share the same passions and want to make Ubuntu even better!

Any advice for people wanting to help out MOTU?
Start doing the work, ask questions and most importantly don’t be afraid to admit when you don’t know something or made a mistake. This gets back to learning how Ubuntu teams work– there is a lot to learn but one of the strengths of our community is that we have a tremendous collective knowledge-base.

You have been working on a lot of different packages in the last cycles, what are you going to focus on in Hardy?
My priority is always security updates, but I am also working on the soon-to-be-uploaded ufw, ubuntu-cve-tracker, apparmor profiles, and network authentication (among other things).

How do you think Hardy will special for our users?
As an LTS release, Hardy will provide polish and many improvements for all users. I am particularly excited about Ubuntu Server, as there is a great community surrounding it and lot of new features since Gutsy and especially Dapper.

Favorite quote?
I’ll give the first two that popped into my head:

  • “Thou shalt love thy neighbor as thyself.” Leviticus 19:18
  • “Do or do not… there is no try.” Yoda from ‘The Empire Strikes Back’

Words to live (and work on Ubuntu) by.

What do you do in your other spare time?
Hmm, ‘spare time’. Well, Wikipedia says: “Leisure or free time, is a period of time spent out of work and essential domestic activity.” I find the idea of ‘spare time’ intriguing and would like to explore it more…. ;)

Seriously though, when not at the computer I spend time with my family, greyhounds, and playing music.

Jamie’s desk

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. January 17, 2008 at 4:26 pm

    Noticed you have two keyboards, have you tried “synergy”?
    apt-cache search synergy
    synergy – Share mouse, keyboard and clipboard over the network
    If you install it on two machines, you can use the keyboard
    and mouse from one machine to control both desktops.

  2. Jamie Strandboge
    January 17, 2008 at 5:22 pm

    I do have two keyboards, but not (usually) for each of those monitors. The keyboard in the front is hooked up to the laptop on the desktop, and the monitor on the left is also hooked up to that laptop (using xrandr).

    The keyboard in the back (and the monitor on the left) are hooked up to a KVM switch that goes to my servers (not pictured).

    I have not used synergy, and am not sure it would work in my situation (eq my laptop is not always on), but will have to check it out. Thanks!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment