Home > Uncategorized > Andres Rodriguez (RoAkSoAx)

Andres Rodriguez (RoAkSoAx)

Age: 24
Location: Miami, FL.
IRC Nick: RoAkSoAx.

Andres Rodriguez

Andres Rodriguez

New work environment

New work environment

Laptop screenshot

Laptop screenshot

How long have you used Linux and what was your first distro?
I’ve been using Linux on daily basis for almost 3 years now, but I started with Red Hat 7.1 on 2001.

How long have you been using Ubuntu?
I’ve been using Ubuntu since 2005, just a few days after Hoary Hedgehog was released, but it wasn’t until 6.10 that I started using it on daily basis.

When did you get involved with the MOTU team and how?
Well, I always wanted to get involved with Open Source and I found Ubuntu a great place to start. I actually started reading the Developer Documentation released with 6.06, but never got the time to actually commit myself to it due to work and studies. Mostly because It’s not easy to get started in Open Source in a third world country like Peru, where everything is pretty much M$ oriented.

Anyways, when Nicolas Valcarcel (nxvl) became MOTU, I just said “I want to become a MOTU too”, and I requested a Mentorship for the Intrepid Development cycle, however I was unable to finish it due to personal reasons. So, it wasn’t till the Karmic development cycle that I pretty much put all my spare time into it (I restarted my Mentorship, but with ivoks this time), and now you see me here :).

What helped you learn packaging and how Ubuntu teams work?
What I believe helped me learn packaging was my desire to do it, and the willingness to put my hands on packaging, but of course all of that was driven by the documentation, my mentors, and all the people that reviewed my packages and helped me along the way. Something that I was told, and you all might know is that you will always learn something new while being a MOTU.

What’s your favourite part of working with the MOTU?
My favourite part is that no matter who you are, what you do, where you at, and what time is it, someone will be there to help you, and that you can learn so much from other people. I also find amusing to work on such a distributed environment.

Any advice for people wanting to help out MOTU?
Yes. If you really have the desire to help and become a MOTU just commit to it, because if you do, you’ll always find the time to help out. Read the documentation and always ask questions; don’t get disappointed if people are not around to answer them. You might make a lots of mistakes but you must be willing to learn form them and listen to what others have to say! And well, just practice, practice, and continue to practice!

Are you involved with any local Linux/Ubuntu groups?
Yes. My involvement with LUGs started with AQPGLUG, which is the group from my hometown. Then, I got involved with the Ubuntu LoCo Team, where I’m now one of the Council Members. Right now, since I do not live in Peru any more, I’m on my search for a new LUG to get involved with here at FIU.

What are you going to focus on in Karmic and Karmic+1?
My focus for Karmic will be the Sponsorship Queue and bugfixes. For Karmic+1 it will be the Server Team and the Ubuntu HA team, now that I have more experience. However I would really like to get involved with the Security Team (because I’ve always wanted to be a Security Expert) and with the Desktop Team (because I use it every day and it just feels right to contribute to it).

What do you do in your other spare time?
Well, the past few months (between May and July), I pretty much spent all my spare time in the MOTU mentorship process. The past 3 weeks I haven’t had much spare time. However, I like to hang out with friends, watch movies, play video games and play soccer and tennis.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

