Home > Uncategorized > Andreas Wenning (a|wen)

Andreas Wenning (a|wen)

Age: 23
Location: Currently Bangkok, Thailand
IRC Nick: a|wen

desktop1me_roots_angkor

How long have you used Linux and what was your first distro?
I’ve been using linux since 2006, and my first distro was actually Ubuntu.

How long have you been using Ubuntu?
I actually switched to Ubuntu directly from Windows back when dapper was the new thing. After using it as a second workstation/server for some time, I ended up switching to use Kubuntu edgy as my primary operating system on all I had of hardware. I quickly started developing some interest in how it all worked behind the scene; upgrading to alpha/beta releases and reporting bugs.

When did you get involved with the MOTU team and how?
My more serious involvement started in the beginning of 2007. Ubuntu was changing to apache2 only and all apache1 only modules needed to go away or get updated; I helped investigating possibilities, filing removal reports, sharing my investigations with Debian and taking maintainership in Debian for the modules to be kept, but missing a maintainer. After that I started helping out some more with Kubuntu during the last part of the hardy cycle.

What helped you learn packaging and how Ubuntu teams work?
Trying and trying, reading and reading, and asking lots of question. I’ve had some great sponsors to ask, and both the #kubuntu-devel and #ubuntu-motu IRC channel are great places to hang around if you happen to have a packaging question. And searching around wiki.ubuntu.com has also helped me a lot to get started with new things.

What’s your favorite part of working with the MOTU?
Actually be part of making something as great as Kubuntu and Ubuntu! And the friendly atmosphere of course :)

Any advice for people wanting to help out MOTU?
Find a problem that really annoys you (not too complex you know) and then try to fix it. Reading up on packaging, patching and more on the wiki and joining #ubuntu-motu (or #kubuntu-devel for kde packages) for asking the questions that the wiki doesn’t answer. Fixing rebuildd FTBFS and helping with merges can also give a good hang of the packaging flow.

Are you involved with any local Linux/Ubuntu groups?
I am, back in Denmark. I hang around the IRC channel, help a bit with answering questions and show up at the release parties.

What are you going to focus on in Jaunty and Jaunty+1?
Trying to get as many of the kde3 packages replaced with kde4 equivalents; and making the kde packages we ship at release rock! Just upgraded to jaunty on my main computer, and they already rock :) but let’s have them rock even more!

What do you do in your other spare time?
Studying for a Master in Telecommunication; that really takes a lot of time. Else enjoying life, doing sports and travelling around Thailand (I’m studying on exchange currently). When I come back to Denmark I will start being a scout leader again…

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Lyvia Vitório
    February 9, 2010 at 3:09 pm

    Amei sua casa na árvore meus parabéns!!!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

