Home > Uncategorized > Luca Falavigna

Luca Falavigna

Luca Falavigna

Age: 24

Location: Guastalla, a small city in northern Italy

IRC Nick: DktrKranz

 

 

 

 

 

How long have you used Linux and what was your first distro?

I started using GNU/Linux in 2000 with Mandrake, soon replaced by Debian, which has been my O.S. until late 2005.

 

 

How long have you been using Ubuntu?

Since 2005, after installing Breezy Badger.

 

 

When did you get involved with the MOTU team and how?

My first package was merge of nttcp in March 2007, during late Feisty development cycle. I just discovered http://merges.ubuntu.com and I wanted to help out. After reading Ubuntu Packaging Guide and some documents in http://www.debian.org/devel, I started to understand packaging logic and began give my contribution.

 

What helped you learn packaging and how Ubuntu teams work?

I learned packaging by reading technical documentation (Ubuntu Packaging Guide, http://www.debian.org/devel) and following my sponsors’ advices. I found very useful looking at some debdiffs already published in Ubuntu too, they help a lot if you are unsure about a fix..

 

Favorite part of working with the MOTU?

Being aware your work is important for many people. Solve problems and make Ubuntu rock for all is a great goal, every little step is important because a minimal fix can be important for someone, and I am happy to give my contribution where I am able to.

 

Any advice for people wanting to help out MOTU?

Many people are not comfortable with development because they feel strong programming skills are required. Sometimes it is not so hard and everyone’s help is appreciated by fixing easy issues. I have the pleasure to work with some Italian contributors who show interest in the project: even if they are not programmers, they contributed actively and some of them uploaded more than 40 packages so far! Being curious is the key: join #ubuntu-motu, ask questions about development processes and start to work on a bug you feel important, when your efforts lead to a package upload, you will know why we are all so enthusiast to contribute to MOTU activities :)

 

You have been working on a lot of different packages in the last cycles, what are you going to focus on in Hardy?

I do not have a limited set of packages to look at (unless the ones I maintain in Debian), so I would like to help where there is need to, basically by fixing unmetdeps and FTBFS, reviewing patches and additional QA efforts.

 

How do you think Hardy will special for our users?

Plans to make Universe usable by everyone are very important and MOTU community started with enthusiasm to gather some tools to help this way (see http://qa.ubuntuwire.com). These activities will improve overall quality of Universe packages and our users will surely benefit of this. I hope new contributors will pursue this target too, Universe is huge and there is a lot of work to do!

 

Favorite quote?

“Politicians look at the next elections, statesmen look at the next generations” – A. De Gasperi

 

 

What do you do in your spare time?

I like playing basketball, I usually take shots on playgrounds when I have time to.

I like food too, Italy is a great place to pursue this kind of interest :)

 

desktop.pngDesk

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. December 13, 2007 at 1:06 pm

    I was wondering, do you had any more blogs?

  2. March 8, 2008 at 1:26 am

    Wish I had the talent to write such posts.

  1. November 29, 2007 at 9:07 am

Leave a Reply

