Home > Uncategorized > Emanuele Gentili (emgent)

Emanuele Gentili (emgent)

Age: 21
Location: Orvieto, Italy
IRC Nick: emgent

How long have you used Linux and what was your first distro?
I started with slackware in 1999, version 4.0 if i remember well.After that i switched to Gentoo Linux for my home-based servers, and Debian for desktop, but intrigued by Ubuntu Hoary Hedgehog I installed it after release in April 2005. From that moment ubuntu was always on my box somewhere, sharing my time with Aurox fedora based distribution for some time that I developed.

How long have you been using Ubuntu?
Since April 2005.

When did you get involved with the MOTU team and how?
I started to contribuite in MOTU team when I decided to stop my work in Gentoo and Aurox development. I created Launchpad account in 2007-11-09 and i started my contribute in Ubuntu Security Team with Security fix to packages, auditing, penetration tests on launchpad, ubuntu website and other stuff (and i found some nice security bugs in this, now all fixed).

What helped you learn packaging and how Ubuntu teams work?
About packaging there are a lot of great resources. I used DebianMaintainer guide, Ubuntu packaging guide, the Ubuntu School logs and Debian Policy have been good places to consult when I didn’t know anything, or was unsure. Now, thanks to Daniel Holbach, we have Ubuntu videos too and important asset to start.

For the questions there is a #ubuntu-motu channel on freenode, another very important resources for solve possible problems.

What’s your favorite part of working with the MOTU?
I think that working with lots of people that have the same interests, views and goals.

Any advice for people wanting to help out MOTU?
Please read it[¹] and join, we need help for became the best distribution, so that we can thus conquer the world! :-)
[¹] http://www.ubuntu.com/community/participate

What are you going to focus on in Intrepid?
I’m working mainly Rapache [²] (available in Intrepid Universe) a GUI for configuring and manage apache2. Rapache is wrote in python+GTK coming out of an idea after UDS Prague. In this last period I have also taken the WindowMaker package (lightweight loving desktop manager) that it was perhaps too abandoned, as I am a wmaker developer my son heard the first responsible. In addition to this I work as usual to auditing, penetration test and fix the security vulnerabilities contained in packages.

[²] https://launchpad.net/rapache

How do you think Intrepid will special for our users?
The best WindowMaker ever seen, for stability and speed :-)
after that, i think that rapache will be a good tool for all sysadmins, rapache will be facilitate the sysadmin with their configurations to the web server, and I hope will be a good tool to convince some sysadmin who use Microsoft Windows to switch to Ubuntu.

Favorite quote?
“If god is, man is a slave.”
— Mikhail Bakunin

What do you do in your other spare time?
I do political activism (not political parties) and I’m involved in movements formed by voluntary associations who are working for various things. I do it with my GirlFriend. :-)

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. August 15, 2008 at 9:37 am

    Doing it with your girlfriend. Must be quite something to specifically note it in the interview. ;)

  1. November 1, 2008 at 5:19 am

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

