Home > Uncategorized > Mathias Gug

Mathias Gug

Today we’re talking to Mathias Gug, a member of Canonical’s Server Team.

Mathias Gug

Age: 28
Location: Montreal, Canada
IRC Nick: mathiaz

How long have you used Linux and what was your first distro?

The first time I saw linux was in 1997, Redhat IIRC.  The first time I downloaded it was in September 1999, Debian. But I gave up after a couple of weeks. I came back during summer of 2000 with Mandrake Linux and the 2.4 kernel. I’ve never left since then.

How long have you been using Ubuntu?

I installed Ubuntu one and half year ago, it was Xubuntu 6.06 IIRC.

When did you get involved with the MOTU team and how?

I was hired by Canonical as the first member of the Ubuntu Server Team last May. I started packaging AppArmor and other server-related software which lead me to become a member of the MOTU team.

What helped you learn packaging and how Ubuntu teams work?

I’m using the packaging guide from help.ubuntu.com, the Debian New Maintainer Guide and the Debian Policy. For processes, I just keep referring to wiki.ubuntu.com where they’re all outlined. And last, but not least, the irc channels (#ubuntu-motu and #ubuntu-devel), are great resources. I’ve always find someone to help me there.

Favorite part of working with the MOTU?

Being part of a great team trying to deliver the best of the free software world. There are lots of interesting challenges when it comes to packaging – you get to learn how things work under the hood.

Any advice for people wanting to help out MOTU?

Start simple, start small. Pick one bug or one package and try to fix it. Ask for sponsorship and you’ll learn a lot of things in no time.

You have been working a lot in the Server Team, what can MOTU do to better the Ubuntu Server experience?

One of the project I’ll try to work one is a better packaging framework for web applications. So that such application can be added to the universe easily and in a consistent manner.

Any plans for Hardy Heron?

Most of them are in the server area – I’ll keep on working on security with AppArmor. Server hardware testing is another area I’m interested in.

Favorite quote?

“I am not an Athenian or a Greek, but a citizen of the world.”
Plutarch quoting Socrates

What do you do in your spare time?

Among others things, I go swing dancing several nights a week, both in Montreal and in other places in North America. I’m also a big traveller: I’ve just returned from an eight month backpacking experience in Asia covering Mongolia, Tibet, Nepal and India.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

